Ggantija Temples and Ta’ Kola Windmill
Ggantija temples are located in the south-eastern part of Xaghra, Gozo. The cultural importance of the Ggantija temples is significant, to the extent that it has been listed as one of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) World Heritage sites since 1980.
The Ġgantija Temples were erected sometime between 3,200 B.C. and 3,600 B.C., at a time when Malta was still during the pre-historical period. According to research, this also means that the Temples are much older than the world-famous sites of Stonehenge in the United Kingdom and the Great Pyramid of Giza in Egypt, which were erected in the 3,100 B.C. and 2,500 B.C. respectively.
As graphically illustrated above, the Ġgantija Temples consist of two temples. The one on the left is called the Southern Temple whereas the smaller one, that is, the one on the right, is called the Northern Temple. The Southern Temple, which is the older between the two temples, is made up of five semi-circular apses linked together through a central corridor. The plan of the Northern Temple is very similar to the Southern Temple, with the only difference actually being that of size.
The coralline limestone (Ġebla tal- Qawwi ta’ Fuq) plays an important role in Ġgantija as this sedimentary stone is broadly used within the temples. Indeed, the only exceptions are the doorways and altars, which are made up of porous “Globigerina” limestone (Ġebla tal- Franka). As one can also see in the adjacent photo, one can also note that, at the Ġgantija, one can find both vertical and horizontal structures.
An interesting feature found within the Northern Temple is the altar standing at the back of the temple and facing the main entrance of the same temple. The discovery of the remains of animals’ bones and the burned-wall around the said altar prove beyond doubt that the altar was used for the ritual of animal sacrifice.
Furthermore, it is also important to mention that this site was home to the discovery of the statue which symbolises a fat woman (in Maltese known as il-Mara l-Hoxna). Another interesting fact attributed to these structures is that, for decades, locals have believed that the Temples were erected by giant people (Ġġanti). This could also shed light over the origins of the name given to the said temples. The reasoning behind this belief is down to the fact that it is thought that the sizeable stones with which the temples were erected were transported via wooden beams from Ta Cenc, in Sannat. Since Sannat is situated on the other side on Gozo, many argued that normal-sized people could not manage to transport and erect such huge stones with the primitive tools available to them at that times.
Ta Kola Windmill located just few metres away from the Ggantija complex is one of the oldest windmills on the Maltese Islands dating back to the Knights’ Period.
The windmill houses the milling mechanism which is comprises of two circular hard-wearing stones located on top of each other in order to suppress the grain which was positioned between the two surfaces.
Monday to Sunday: 9:00am – 17:00pm (Last admission: 16:30)
Adults (18-59 years): Euro 9.00
Youths (12-17 years), Senior Citizens (60 years and over), and Students: Euro 7.00
Children (6-11 years): Euro 5.00
Infants (1-5 years): Free
The fee includes admission to Ta Kola’ Windmill and Ggantija Temples.
Ninu’s Cave and Xerri Grotto
Ninu’s Cave was discovered by Joseph Rapa in the 19th century, exactly in 1888. This underground cave is well-known for its abundant natural stalactites and stalagmites.
The cave entrance is via a four-metre staircase, which ends in a larger chamber. One can notice that the calcification of water dripping from the cave ceiling has formed a number of magnificent columns. Most of these formations are now dry.
The cave is well illuminated by electric lights and a tour with a guide is available throughout the whole year from 08.30 until 18.00.
Similar to Ninu’s Cave, this cave is an underground one. One can reach this cave via a ten-metre spiral staircase. This cave was discovered in 1923, underneath a house while the owners were doing some construction works. The excavations of this site were carried out during the Second World War, when the said caves were used as a shelter from the War attacks.
The cave hosts calcified formations which varies from 25cm to a metre tall, speleothems (stalactites/stalagmites) resembling a tortoise, a vulture, a giraffe and a pair of elephant’s ears.
A tour is available from Mondays to Saturdays from 09.00 until 18.00 against an entrance fee of €2.50.
Calypso Cave is located in Xaghra and overlooks the red sands of Gozo’s finest beach, Ramla Bay. Calypso Cave offers expansive views of Ramla Bay and the surroundings.
A legend is associated with this place. The legend states that due to unsuitable weather conditions, Odysseus’s ship ran aground on a bay on the island of Ogygia (it is thought that this island is the island of Gozo). Suddenly, he noticed a cave located at the very top of a hill where beautiful women were dancing at the entrance of this cave. The explorer went up to witness what is going on and at this time Calypso appeared.
Due to the fact that Calypso was a beautiful nymph woman, Odysseus was drawn to her as she sang her enchanting song. Odysseus wanted to stay with her as she promised him immortality and that they will together conquer Ogygia. However, sometime later Odysseus realised that he was missing his wife Penelope and he wanted to leave Calypso in order to return back to his wife.
But, Calypso refused to let Odysseus to leave as she kept him prisoner for seven years until the gods forced Calypso to let Odysseus to go. She guided Odysseus to construct a raft in order to go back.
Finally, the legend ends by Calypso watching Odysseus sailing in the distance, while, in the meantime she sang her enchanting song.
How to get there: One can go by a private car or else by walk.
Museum of Toys
Located in Xaghra, Gozo, the small privately-owned museum hosts a late 18th century Maltese Doll with carved wooden head, Italian nativity scene figurines, 1930’s Noah’s Ark, a “Hornby” Train Set and Edwin’s “Dinky” vehicles, a pressed paper “Hunting Scene” and “Zoo”, a set of soldiers made in the 1970’s but dressed in uniform of the Swedish Army in 1750’s and unmarked Lead Cricketers. Furthermore, zoo and farm animals, Cowboys and Indians, Aeroplanes, Ships and Soldiers, an Ambulance Set, optical toys, soft toys made by Steiff, Lenci and Kathe Kruse, and a few (Schuco & Lehmann) are also on display.
The museum is open from 10.30 until 13.00 on the following months:
February, March and December: Saturdays Only
April and November: Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays
May, June, July, August, September and October: Mondays to Saturdays
Ramla Bay is located in the North of Gozo and it is well-known as the best sandy beach on the island. Recently, the bay was placed 21st out of 50 best bays in the world according to a popular British daily paper.
With its unique reddish soil and blue seas, it is a must for all visitors to visit the bay during their holiday.
The sandy beach is the biggest beach on the island of Gozo where here tourists can truly relax and forget about the daily routine. Here, kids will have the opportunity to build castles on sand while the other members of the family can bask in the Maltese sun.
Local operators are available for those persons who want to hire umbrellas and sunbeds or other beach equipment. Also, restaurants are available for those persons who want to take a light snack or taking a local beer. Other facilities include public toilets, lifeguard service and also the service of the local boat operators for those persons who want to take a banana or crazy cow rides in the area.
San Blas Bay
San Blas Bay is one of the smallest beaches on the island. The red –orange sandy beach is located in the north-east of Gozo. One can access the beach from Nadur. The 100 metres long bay is an ideal spot for
picnics and also for snorkelling as the bay has very clear and beautiful waters. One can also admire the Gozitan countryside surrounding the area.
San Blas Bay is less crowded than other beaches on the island of Gozo. In fact, this beach is considered as the most tranquil beach on the island. This is due to the fact that visitors who would like to visit the beach must walk to the beach as the final part of the road towards the beach was closed for traffic as it is very steep.
Recently, San Blas was voted as the best beach, amongst other beaches on the island of Gozo.
A small kiosk is available in the area from where you can rent out umbrellas, sun beds and canoes. Furthermore, the kiosk also offers local snacks and drinks.
How to get there: One can take Bus Number 303 from Victoria or from Mgarr Harbour. Furthermore, one can also go by a private car as a small parking is available. But, as aforementioned, the last part of the road towards the beach is not accessible for transport.
N.B. During the summer months, for those persons who want to go towards the beach by transport, a private operator is available during the day.
Marsalforn Bay is one of the most well-known resorts on the island of Gozo. It attracts hundreds of Maltese and visitors every year in particular in the summer months.
Marsalforn hosts number of bars, wine bars, snack bars and also a selection of Gelateria. Furthermore, the bay hosts number of restaurants which are well-known for seafood platters and also other local specialities.
Other rocky beaches that one can find in the area of Marsalforn are il- Qolla s-Safra, Xwejni Bay and Qbajjar Bay. All bays are ideal for snorkelling. The area of Qbajjar is the home of the salt pans as the 350 years old salt pans are scattered around the coast.
Located, on the west of Marsalforn tourist resort, one can find the narrow, cliff-bound inlet of Wied il-Ghasri. A staircase cut into the rock leads to this picturesque pebbly beach where one can have a swim or snorkel around when the sea is calm.
Wied il-Ghasri is also well-known with divers who like to explore the surrounding underwater caves.
The picturesque bay of Xlendi is located in the south-west of Gozo and is popular for swimming, snorkelling and also for diving. A number of diving centres are located in the area as Xlendi with its reef formations make this bay the number one for diving. The bay is a typical fishing village and hosts number of bars, well- known restaurants and also snack-bars. On the way to Xlendi, there is also La Grotta discotheque which is well-known for its scenery. It mainly opens between June and October.
One can rent a boat or book a trip from the boat operator available for those persons who wish to go around the beautiful bay of Xlendi and the surroundings.
Xlendi offers the possibility for visitor to experience the Gozitan sunset
A small watch tower which is one of the oldest free-standing coastal watch towers on the island of Gozo is located in Xlendi Bay. It was constructed in 1650 during the period of the Grand Master Lascaris. The main aim of the watch tower was to defend Xlendi Bay from any pirates and quarantine evaders. The Tower which served till 1871 was equipped with two 6-pounder iron guns. Nowadays the tower dominates Xlendi bay. On the way to visit the Xlendi Tower, one shall observe the beautiful scenery of the Kantra Valley.
How to get there: One can take Bus Number 306 from Victoria or Bus Number 330 also from Victoria. Furthermore, one can also go either by walk or by a private car as parking facilities is available in the heart of Xlendi.
Dwejra and Azure Window
Although Dwejra lost one of the Maltese Island main natural landmarks, the Azure Window, Dwejra houses other visitor attractions including The Fungus Rock, The Inland Sea, The Blue Hole and also The Dwejra Coast Watch Tower.
The Blue Hole is well-known with local and foreign divers as this area is the best diving spot on the island of Gozo. This spot houses a large number of different species of fish and sea plants. It is for you to discover the area. At the entrance of Dwejra, one can notice the Dwejra Coast Watch Tower where the main aim of this watch tower was to guard the area against the attacks from the sea. In the year 1873, the tower becomes unused and was abandoned till the year 1997 where Din L- Art Helwa takes the responsibility to restore and save the tower. Nowadays, the opening hours are from Monday to Friday from 9:00 to 15:00, and on weekends and public holidays from 12:00 to 15:00. The tower is open when the flag is hoisted.
The Fungus Rock known as “Il Gebla tal-General” is a small islet, located at the entrance of Dwejra Bay. During the Knights of Malta period, this tiny rock houses an unattractive fungus plant. It is thought that this plant have the ability to cure many medical conditions. In order to safeguard the plant at that time, access to the tiny rock was strictly not allowed.
Other main attraction found in Dwejra Bay is the Inland Sea. The Inland Sea is a lagoon surrounded by cliffs. A one hundred metre tunnel connects the Inland Sea to the open sea. Tourists who are visiting the spot have the possibility to take a boat trip provided by local fishermen as the tunnel is large enough for small boats to navigate. There are two types of boat trips which are the fifteen minutes trip where the trip takes you through the tunnel and to the Azure Window and the thirty minutes trip where the trip takes you through the tunnel, to the Azure Window and also visiting the Fungus Rock.
It is an ideal spot for people who want to sit and watch the unique scenery. Snack bars are available for those persons who want to take a quick snack or sip a coffee.
If you are an energetic person, you can either swim in Inland Sea or attempt to climb the cliffs. It is also a popular spot for divers.
It is also a popular spot to watch the Maltese sunset.
How to get there: One can take Bus Number 311 from Victoria. Furthermore, one can also go by a private car.
Wied il-Mielah Window
The Wied il-Mielah Window is located at the end of the valley Wied il-Mielah, limits of the picturesque village of Gharb. Many people believe that the limestone natural arch of Wied il-Mielah is becoming more well-known after the Azure Window collapsed after a heavy storm last March.
The area is less accessible than the Dwejra arch was. In fact, one shall go by walk to the Window to discover this new gem.
This area is also ideal spot for walks where one can witness the exceptional natural beauty of the Gozitan landscape.
How to get there: One can take Bus Number 312 from Victoria to Gharb Main Square (Where the parish church of the locality dedicated to the Visitation of Our lady to St Elizabeth is located). From here, one shall walk to Wied Il-Mielah Window via Triq Frenc tal-Gharb, Triq il-Blata and Triq ta’ Wied il-Mielah.
Ta’ Pinu National Shrine and Karmni Grima Museum
Once you are in Gozo, a visit to Ta’ Pinu National Shrine is a must. The church dedicated to Our Lady of Ta’ Pinu is very fascinating as one can witness a large number of paintings and stone sculptures. In fact, the church hosts six mosaics and also several coloured windows. The steeple is approximately sixty metres high.
Furthermore, the site is well-known for pilgrimages who wish to pray or simply admire the rich architecture of the place. One can also note the devotion of the Gozitan, Maltese and also of foreigners expressed on items including helmets, casts, photos, baby grows hanged on the wall at the back of the sanctuary as offerings from promises attended by Our Lady of Ta’ Pinu.
In 1990, Pope John Paul II visited Ta’ Pinu church where he celebrated a mass there.
Ta’ Pinu National Shrine Opening Hours are from Monday to Sunday: 6.30am-12:15 pm and 15:30pm-19:00pm. Admission is free of charge.
Visitors can also visit L –Gholja tal-Ghammar area, which is located opposite of Ta’ Pinu Sanctuary. The area hosts a number of statues depicting the episodes from the Passion of the Christ. Numbers of pilgrimages are organised in particular during Lent.
Other interesting fact is that the road leading to the Ta’ Pinu National Shrine hosts a set of five frescoes representing the Mary Help of Christians, Mary Refuge of sinners, Mary Health of the Sick, Mary Queen of the Family and also Mary Queen of Peace. One can stop for a prayer or reflection on the way to the Sanctuary.
Few minutes away from the Basilica of Ta’ Pinu, one can also visit the former house of Carmela Grima, the peasant lady who heard the call of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Ta’Pinu. The museum features an audio-visual presentation about Carmela Grima’s life and also the message of The Blessed Mother of Ta’Pinu. There is a small area within the museum which gives an insight of the rural 19th century life. Audio-guide is available in six languages including Maltese, English, French, German, Italian and Spanish. The museum is open from Tuesdays to Saturdays from 09.00 until 16.00 and Sundays and Public Holidays from 09.00 until 12.30
How to get there: One can take Bus Number 308 from Victoria. Furthermore, one can also go by a private car.
Ta’ Dbiegi Crafts Village
Gozo is well-known for its home-made crafts and creativity. The crafts village, which is situated on the way to San Lawrenz, have numerous individual local shops scattered around the complex. When visiting the Crafts Village you can assist for demonstrations including how lace, home-made pottery, glass blowing and also leather items are done.
It is the ideal place to buy a local souvenir for your family or relatives.
Ta’ Dbiegi Crafts Village opening hours are from Monday to Saturday: 9:30am-17:00pm
Ta’ Gordan Lighthouse (Il-Fanal tal – Ġordan)
Ta’ Gordan Lighthouse was built during the British Period in 1850s and is situated 160 metres above sea level in the north-west of Gozo, in the limits of Ghasri. It affords breath-taking views.
The lighthouse plays and important role for the defence of the Maltese Islands in particular during World War Two. The radar installed in the said lighthouse could detect the enemy attacks in advance, therefore, giving enough time for the air raid sirens to advice the people to take shelter from the assaults.
At first, the lantern was working with oil before the system was operated by the means of 21 fixed kerosene lamps. In 1962, the lighting system was changed again and had the power of 895000 candles. The light stretched out for about 54 kilometres. Another new system which is still in operation until today was installed in 1994. This system works automatically and requires less maintenance and surveillance.
Currently, the lighthouse is participating in a research on atmospheric pollution and the effect of carbon monoxide on the ozone layer. In addition, the government has started to restore the historic il-Fanal tal-Gordan and the embellishment of the whole zone in 2019.
How to get there: One can take also Bus Number 308 from Victoria and you shall stop at bus Stop called Fanal. One can also go either by a private car or else by walk.
Mgarr ix-Xini is located in the outskirts of the village of Sannat. The rocky-beach is well-known for its beautiful crystal waters and snorkelling. It is also renowned for diving as this location possesses a lot of marine life and it is perfect for underwater photography.
This area is also an ideal spot for adventurous rock climbers.
Furthermore, in 2014 the beach attracts foreign movie producers to shoot scenes for the romantic drama movie “By the Sea” starring Angelina Jolie Pitt and Brad Pitt.
How to get there: One can go either by a private car or else by walk.
Ta’ Cenc cliffs
The village of Sannat is also prominent for the stunning Ta’ Cenc cliffs which house numerous wildlife species, the mysterious ancient cart ruts, rich fauna and flora. Ta’ Cenc cliffs are the highest cliffs in the island of Gozo.
Ta’ Cenc which is an important ecological and geological site is the home for L-Imramma Temple (a primitive type prehistoric temple made up of a sort of an oval court with series oval rooms to the north). Other interesting prehistoric remain is the dolmen. The dolmen comprises of a large chunk supported by three smaller stones.
From these cliffs, one can admire the breath-taking view of the deep blue Mediterranean Sea which surrounds the Maltese Archipelago.
How to get there: One can take Bus Number 305 from Victoria. Furthermore, one can also go by a private car.
Rotunda of St. John the Baptist
Xewkija is dominated by the mammoth Rotunda parish church, dedicated to Saint John the Baptist. It became the first parish outside the town of the island of Gozo on 27 November 1678.
The foundation stone of the Rotunda, the parish church, was laid on 4 May 1952. It was built around the former church, itself raised on the site of a still older church. After the 2nd World War, the parishioners, who are traditionally renowned for their building abilities and craftsmanship on Maltese stone, expressed their wish to construct a new and majestic Parish Church. The first stone was laid down in 1951.
It took the status of a parish as early as 1678. Years later a parish church, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, was erected, and was consecrated in 1755.
The monumental church is an enormous circular structure in white local limestone. Because of its form it is called The Rotunda. Eight concrete columns covered with stone support its elegant dome, 75 metres high, with a 28 metre diameter, and a circumference of 85 metres. This boasts one of the largest unsupported dome in the World.
The Church is finely decorated with modern paintings. The floor is in polished Carrara marble and the main altar is also carved in precious marble. The Rotunda of Xewkija is a superb architectural masterpiece that reveals the exquisite texture and the versatility of local limestone.
Another place of interest for the visitors is The Sculpture Museum where a replica of the old church is exhibited. From the Sculpture Museum, visitors can take an elevator up to the balcony of the dome where one can assist for panoramic views of the island.
How to get there: One can take Bus Number 323 from Victoria. Furthermore, one can also go by a private car.
The eight façade historic Xewkija windmill was built by the Knights of St. John between the 17th and 18th Century. The Knights have built several mills in the Maltese and Gozitan villages. The windmill is a remarkable one as it is the only one with a tower built on an octagonal base.
The windmill was commissioned by Grand Master Perellos. The Xewkija windmill started milling wheat in 1710 by Miller Ganni Scicluna until 1956. The windmill housed the Xewkija Band Club between 1956 and 1965.
It consists of a large entrance hall, two spacious parallel rooms and a kitchen at the back. A winding stone staircase in the middle of the mill leads up to the roof of the tower.
The 300-year old windmill is back to its glory following an extensive restoration completed in January, 2021. The windmill which is now open to the public free of charge, will be also used to host traditional folklore events and also for talks and seminars.
Savina Creativity Centre
Savina is part of Magro Food Village and is located in the industrial estate of Xewkija. In this establishment, one shall find a large variety of local artisan related –food products including Tomato Spread (Kunserva), Sundried Tomatoes with Garlic, Sun Blushed Cherry Tomatoes, Basil, Artichoke and Olive Pates, Pickled Onions with Honey, Extra Virgin Oil, Infused Wine Vinegar with Lemon, Honey, Mulberry, Orange Marmalade and Qaghaq tal- Ghasel, amongst other products.
One shall note that all products are all made within Magro Food Village.
The centre is open on the following dates:
Monday to Friday: 9:45am-15:30pm
How to get there: One can take Bus Number 301 from Mgarr Harbour and stop in Xewkija (approx.15mins walk from the bus stop to Magro Food Village) or Bus Number 302 from Victoria and stop at Tal-Hamrija Bus Stop (approx.7mins walk from the bus stop to Magro Food Village). Furthermore, one can also go by a private car as a small parking is available in front of the centre.
Citadel and Victoria
The Citadel or as also known by locals as Citadella is situated in the capital city of Gozo, Victoria. It is built on one of the several flat-topped hills in Gozo. Studies conclude that this fortification was constructing in the Bronze era, exactly in 1500 BC. Nowadays, Citadel is a recommended place in Gozo as it offers historical and architecture building such as the Old Courts of Law and the Old Governor’s Palace, which are the official buildings for law in Gozo.
Moreover, there are several museums documenting different facts of Gozitan history such as the Museum of Archaeology, Folklore, National History, Cathedral Museum and the Cathedral Church itself.
Gozo’s Cathedral is dedicated to the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary (Santa Marija). The feast is celebrated on the 15th August. The Cathedral is a baroque structure and it is very hard to convince first-time visitors that the Cathedral’s dome is a flat one.
Recently, the Citadel was under intensive restoration and one can experience the original Citadel entrance after the completion of the project.
How to get there: It is recommended that visitors go by walk.
Cathedral and Cathedral Museum Opening Hours:
Cathedral: 5:00am-20:00pm (all year round). No visits during church services.
Cathedral Museum: 10:00am-16:00pm (all year round); Closed on Sundays and Public Holidays. For more information you can call on +356 21556087.
An elevator is available for people with special needs.
Heritage Malta Citadel sites Opening Hours:
(Folklore Museum, Gozo Archaeology Museum, Old Prison and Natural Science Museum)
Monday to Sunday: 9:00am-17:00pm
Last admissions at 16:30pm.
Closed on 24th, 25th and 31st December, 1st January and on Good Friday
One Citadel site:
Adults (18-59 years): €3.00
Youths (12-17 years), Senior Citizens (60 years & over) and Students: €2.00
Children (6-11 years): €1.50
Any two Citadel sites:
Adults (18-59 years): €5.00
Youths (12-17 years), Senior Citizens (60 years & over) and Students: €3.00
Children (6-11 years): €2.50
All four Citadel sites:
Adults (18-59 years): €8.00
Youths (12-17 years), Senior Citizens (60 years & over) and Students: €5.00
Children (6-11 years): €4.00
Infants (1-5 years): Free
For more information about Heritage Malta sites, you can click on Heritage Malta.
The capital city also houses number of churches and chapels which are scattered around Victoria.
Located in the heart of the old part of the city, one can mention the magnificent Basilica, which is dedicated to St. George. This Basilica is also well-known as the Marble Basilica as it is entirely covered with marble. The church also hosts paintings of Giovanni Battista Conti of Rome, Mattia Preti, Giuseppe Cali, Michele Busuttil, Giuseppe Fenech, Francesco Zahra, Fortunato Venuti, Injazju Cortis, Ramiro Cali, Filippo Cosimo, Giuseppe D’Arena, Salvatore Bondi, Roberto Dingli and Stefano Erardi. Located over the high altar, the bronze and gold guilded canopy compliments this basilica. The web narrow streets around St. George’s Basilica is also a worth walk around.
In the morning, Independence square well-known with the locals as Pjazza t-Tokk and Sir Michelangelo Refalo Street host the open-air market. One can purchase local souvenirs and beverages, amongst others to relatives and friends. The said square also hosts number of open air cafes.
One can find all kind of shops ranging from shopping arcades, pharmacies, snack bars to banks in Republic Street which is the main street of Victoria. Aurora and Astra theatres are also located in the said street.
These two opera houses host fully staged operas every year with the participation of established international soloists.
Nature-lovers should visit Villa Rundle Gardens who was recently refurbished. With a variety of local and imported trees and a public cooling fountain, make the garden the perfect place to unwind.
Hondoq ir-Rummien Bay
Hondoq ir-Rummien bay is located in the south-east of Gozo and lies opposite of the isle of Comino. The bay can be reached via the village of Qala. The small sandy and pebble beach is the favourite spot for divers, in particular for beginners. With its crystal clear water, this beach is ideal for snorkelling while one can admire and explore the underwater marine life. One can also find a peaceful alley located on the east of Hondoq ir-Rummien, where one can take a quick swim and admire the natural landscape and caves.
How to get there: One can take also Bus Number 303 from Victoria or from Mgarr Harbour and stop in the main square of the village of Qala. One can go either by a private car or else by walk.
A must visit location when you are on the island of Gozo is the Qala Belvedere. One can enjoy a breath-taking view of the main islands of Malta, Comino, Cominotto, Gozo and also the ferry channel between the two islands of Malta and Gozo. Visitors can also spot the channel between Comino and Cominotto which hosts the Blue Lagoon well-known for its crystal clear water.
How to get there: One can take also Bus Number 303 from Victoria or from Mgarr Harbour and stop in the main square of the village of Qala. One can also go either by a private car or else by walk.
St. Anthony’s Battery
St. Anthony Battery, also known by the locals as the ‘Ras il-Qala Battery’ or ‘It-Trunciera’ is one of the two surviving batteries in Gozo. The other battery is called ‘il-Qolla l-Bajda Battery’ which is located in Xwejni in Marsalforn.
The breath-taking Anthony’s artillery Battery is located in Qala and was built in early 18th century between 1731 and 1732 by the Order of the Knights of St. John during the reign of Grand Master Antonio Manoel de Vilhena, whose coat of arms can be seen on the top of the main gateway of the battery. The name of this battery derives from the name of the said Grand Master.
The Battery was designed to serve as a gun battery for the defence of the south-east coast and the channel between Gozo and Comino. It was built as part of a number of coastal fortifications to safeguard the coast of the Maltese islands.
The semi-hexagonal front battery was home to three eight-pounder guns. The design of this battery is different from other batteries in the Maltese islands, therefore, making it a unique one. A V-shaped redan which has thick walls and musketry loopholes was built to prevent a landward attack. The fortification is surrounded by a ditch with a bridge providing access to the main gateway.
Din L-Art Helwa in collaboration with the Qala Local Council has restored this gem in the past years. Recently, Heritage Malta has created a 3D Model for this site. One can follow the 3d Model here
How to get there: One can take also Bus Number 303 from Victoria and you shall stop at bus Stop called Kuncizzjoni. One can reach the Battery only by walk.
Comino is the third largest island in the Maltese Archipelago after mainland Malta and Gozo. The island of Comino is located between Malta and Gozo and no private vehicles are available except for vehicles which offer transport service to the Comino Hotel and Bungalows. Furthermore, in Comino there are no roads, but, only pathways where you can hike.
One of the main visitor attractions on the island which is well-known for day-trippers is Blue Lagoon. It is located between the island of Comino and the islet of Cominotto. The bay is well-known for its crystal clear water and it is the ideal place for snorkelling, scuba diving or simply relaxing on the white sandy beach. Children can play safely in the shallow lagoon while the other members of family are basking in the Maltese sun.
St. Mary’s Bay is also a hotspot for visitors visiting the island. It is the ideal place for relaxation as it is not frequented by many people such as Blue Lagoon.
Built in 1618 by Grand Master de Wignacourt, Santa Marija Tower was underwent extensive restoration between 2002 and 2004. It is argued that the tower was used during the British period. Visitors can visit the notable structure on the island on Wednesdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays from April to end of October between 10:30am and 15:00pm if the flag is flying. For more information you are requested to call on +356 9905 1866.
How to get there: Comino is easily reachable from Mgarr Harbour as several boat providers offer several trips to the island around the whole year.
Please note that boat providers operate subject to suitable weather conditions.